The Louis S. Tregre Award was created in 1991 to honor the memory of Louis S. Tregre, the founding director of the Council of Interior Design Qualification (CIDQ). The Tregre Award honors volunteers who have worked diligently and consistently to further the goals of the NCIDQ Exam.

Beginning in the late 1960s, Louis worked tirelessly to form an independent, autonomous organization with a mission to develop standards and guidelines for determining competency in the practice of interior design. When CIDQ (then NCIDQ) was incorporated as a not-for-profit organization in 1974, Louis served as its first president, a role he held until the mid-1980s.

CIDQ would not exist today without Louis’ vision, commitment, and dedication. His volunteer efforts and spirit – which he shared with the organization for more than 30 years -- are reminders of the critical role of volunteers in the organization’s success.

This award recognizes outstanding volunteer service to CIDQ at the grassroots level. Recipients are nominated and vetted by their peers in the third quarter of each year and honored at the Annual Council of Delegates Meeting.

If you or someone you know has been actively involved in advancing the profession through CIDQ and the NCIDQ Exam, please apply today! To nominate someone uniquely deserving of this award, please complete the Tregre Award Nominations form and submit it electronically to CIDQ Executive Assistant, Kimberly Woods, at no later than July 29, 2016. All nominations will be reviewed by a committee of your peers.

Tregre Award Recipients

  • 2015 J. Derrell Parker
  • 2014 Emory Johnson
  • 2013 Paula Lutz
  • 2012 Caren Martin
  • 2011 Janice Roberts Young
  • 2010 David Butler
  • 2009 Laura McDonald Stewart
  • 2008 Shirley Hammond
  • 2007 Robin Wagner
  • 2006 Donna Vining
  • 2005 Sherry Bilenduke
  • 2004 Leszek Muniak
  • 2003 Denise Guerin
  • 2002 Sooz Klinkhamer
  • 2001 Sandy Friend
  • 2000 Victoria Horobin
  • 1999 Barbara Pallat
  • 1998 Lucille Taylor
  • 1997 Jan Bast
  • 1996 Jan Parker
  • 1995 Arlene Dougall
  • 1994 Glenda Wilcox
  • 1993 E. Camille Puckett
  • 1992 Irving Schwartz
  • 1991 Will Ching